Home Choose Nepal Political Environment Koshi Province

Koshi Province

by dbusiness

Koshi province was formed on 20 September 2015 and the province was named as Koshi on 1st March 2023 in the name of the largest river of the country, Koshi. The largest city is Biratnagar which is also the capital city of the province. There are 14 districts in this province which covers an area of 25,905 sq. km in total.  

There are several mountains in the Koshi Province which includes the world highest mountain, Mount Everest, Kanchanjunga, Lotse, Makalu. 

 The population of the province is five million as per the census 2021. 

 There are three main rivers in the province which are named as Mechi, Kankai and Koshi. There are various hydropower projects in this province out of which Upper Tamakoshi hydropower project is the largest project in the country, operating since July 2021. We will discuss about this in other sections of the portal. 

 There are 28 parliamentary seats and 56 provincial assembly in the province. 

Population 5 Million 
Area 25,905 sq. km 
Official Province name Koshi 
Chief Minister Hikmat Kumar Karki 
Province Capital Biratnagar 
Districts 14 
GDP per capita US$ 1267 
Major Language 




Life expectancy 69 years 



Knowledge base that gives insights on tax, legal and business practices in Nepal.

© All Right Reserved. Developed by Gurkha Technology Pvt. Ltd.